Before and After Bar Cart Redo!

before after

Before and After

We all have those pieces of furniture in our home that require a little of TLC (tender, loving, care). For this redo, I will show you how I restyled an old cart bar I found for only $3 in one of the coolest spots to find treasures in Austin, Texas, Treasure City Thrift.

 

This project took me less than two days to complete, it was easy and fast! Also, I did it in my apartment, you don’t need a big patio or room to make this project.  Most of the materials I used for this project I already had them but there is the list of the materials and prices.

Wen sander with 1/3” sheets ($18.99)

Zinsser spray primer   ($4.48)

Rust-Oleum semi-gloss white paint  ($8.44)

Rust-Oleum metallic gold spray paint  ($3.76)

Nail Polish remover  ($1.99)

Mouth respirator ($1.97)

Paint brushes ($7.97)

Steps 1

to restyle the bar cart I took it apart and made sure to keep all the screws in a safe place then I wiped down all the pieces and proceed to sand it.

E5A10E6F-C93B-4857-A7EB-4637411FAE32

Step 2

It took me at least 2-3 hours ( with breaks) to sand all the pieces. Don’t forget to use a mouth/ nose mask so you don’t get all the dust into your lungs.

Step 3

Now it is time to prime the wood, I used a white-based spray primer because it is easier to use and it dries within minutes. Then I proceed to paint with my latex semi-gloss white paint that also dries to touch in less than 30 minutes

I painted the wood two times so it has a nice white color to it! I let it dry overnight just to make sure there were no wet spots on it.

While the paint was drying, I cleaned up the paint stains in the mirror  with the nail polish remover.

Step 4

I love gold colors, so I decided paint the metal accessories gold. I covered the wood part of the pieces with kitchen wrapping paper so it wouldn’t stain.

 Step 5

Now that everything is ready, is time to put the bar cart together!

Final look

ACE1FCE0-068D-4D46-A9DB-82913382039C

IMG_0224

One thought on “Before and After Bar Cart Redo!

  1. Pingback: Tips! | Daily crafts

Leave a Reply

